Should Bukayo Saka have won Arsenal a late penalty vs Bayern Munich?

  • Bukayo Saka felt he should've won a late penalty after being caught by Manuel Neuer
  • Rio Ferdinand couldn't believe penalty wasn't given
  • Did Saka initiate the contact?
Bukayo Saka felt he should've had a penalty late on against Bayern Munich
Bukayo Saka felt he should've had a penalty late on against Bayern Munich / Marc Atkins/GettyImages

Supporters were left incandescent when Bukayo Saka wasn't awarded a late penalty during Arsenal's 2-2 draw with Bayern Munich in the first leg of their Champions League quarter-final.

Saka had handed Arsenal the perfect start on Tuesday night, wonderfully curling home the game's opener 12 minutes in. However, defensive mishaps which haven't plagued the Gunners in months came to the fore as they were punished by the seasoned visitors.

A 1-0 lead quickly became a 2-1 deficit, although Leandro Trossard struck off the bench to restore parity before the contest entered its final act.

Given Bayern's stellar record at the Allianz Arena in this competition, some might've felt that Arsenal needed to win on home soil to embolden their chances of a semi-final berth. After Kingsley Coman struck the post, the game's moment of contention arrived at the death.

Should Bukayo Saka had won Arsenal a late penalty vs Bayern Munich?

“I cannot believe that hasn’t been given. That’s a clear penalty. I have my hands on top of my head. I’m in disbelief," TNT Sports pundit Rio Ferdinand claimed post-match.

Swedish referee Glenn Nyberg, who'd rightfully earlier awarded Bayern a first-half spot-kick, waved away Saka's plea for a penalty after an onrushing Manuel Neuer brought him down.

The contact can't be denied and there is a slight movement of Neuer's right leg towards Saka which I believe is why many were so convinced that Nyberg should've pointed to the spot. If he does, I don't think the decision is overturned.

However, for me, Saka's unnatural breaking of his stride to ensure he makes contact with the Bayern goalkeeper is enough to suggest Nyberg was correct again. While I appreciate that it was hard for the winger to change course given the speed at which he was travelling, he does properly crash into Neuer in an attempt to buy the penalty.

The incident was quickly waved away by the VAR with Nyberg blowing the final whistle right after.

Saka was incensed and Trossard was also convinced it was a penalty: "On the pitch it looked like a penalty to me. It looked like there was clear contact," the Belgian said in his interview post-match.

Contact: yes. Penalty: no. We should be lamenting the young winger for not staying on his feet and putting the ball into an empty net! Oh well, we're onto Munich. Aston Villa are up next in the Premier League on Sunday.